An appeal was filed on behalf of the Foundation Natuurbelang Amsterdamse Waterleidingduinen -- a foundation that seeks to protect nature in the Amsterdamse Waterleidingduinen-area -- against the decision by the Province of North Holland to grant the Circuit Park Zandvoort an exemption which would allow it to kill, injure, disrupt and destroy the natural habitat of the sand lizard and the natterjack toad, both of which enjoy European protection.  The decision was taken within the context of an objection filed by the foundation against the original decision by the Province in this matter. In granting the exemption, the Province goes against the advice of a three-headed objections committee which had advised against granting the exemption. In its advice, the objections committee had followed the position of the foundation, that there are no compelling reasons of public interest to keep the Formula 1 and that the exemption should not be granted with regard to these heavily protected European species. In spite of this, the Province finds that such compelling reasons of public interest are involved in this case and declared the objection against its original decision to be unfounded. The foundation Natuurbelang does not agree with this and has filed an appeal which is now pending before the district court of Haarlem.

The foundation is represented in this case by Marieke van Eik.

Share this message with

Do you have a question?

Read in our privacy statement how we handle your personal data.

Prakken d'Oliveira, formerly known as Böhler, is a law firm with expertise and experience in asylum and immigration law, European law, administrative law, international criminal law and human rights. Our lawyers provide advice and conduct procedures before the Dutch Immigration and Naturalization Service (IND), the Dutch Review Committee on the Intelligence and Security Services (CTIVD), the District- and Appeals courts, the Administrative Law Division of the Dutch Council of State, the Supreme Court of the Netherlands, the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR), the Court of Justice of the European Union (ECJ), the Human Rights Treaty Bodies of the United Nations (UN), the International Criminal Court (ICC), and other international tribunals.